Dr. Nora Gold, writer, editor and activist

Nora Gold’s book, Fields of Exile, is the first novel about anti-Israelism on campus. It has received enthusiastic reviews, as well as praise from Cynthia Ozick, Phyllis Chesler, Thane Rosenbaum, Irwin Cotler, Steve Stern, Nava Semel, Ellen Frankel, Naim Kattan, Alice Shalvi, and Ann Birstein.

Gold is also the author of the acclaimed Marrow and Other Stories, the creator and editor of the prestigious online literary journal Jewish Fiction .net, the Writer-in-Residence and an Associate Scholar at CSWE/OISE/University of Toronto, the organizer of the Wonderful Women Writers Series, and a community activist.

To see her latest news, including details about her recent book talks, please scroll down to the bottom. You can get in touch with Nora by sending her a message or following her on TwitterFacebook, and LinkedIn.

Cover on the Kindle version, Fields of Exile
This is the Kindle cover. Click here to see the hard copy cover.
Fields of Exile, the first novel about anti-Israelism on campus, was published this May, and has received excellent reviews and enthusiastic praise.

Cynthia Ozick: I read this novel with nonstop enthralled admiration.

Steve Stern: Fields of Exile is poignant, passionate, compelling, and funny. A distinguished novel.

Phyllis Chesler: A gripping tale. It is also a novel of ideas in the tradition of George Elliot, Doris Lessing and Marge Piercy, but one filled with real characters and a literary sensibility.

Thane Rosenbaum: Fields of Exile restores one’s faith in the possibilities of the novel.

marrow-and-other-stories2

Marrow and Other Stories

Nora Gold’s first book, Marrow and Other Stories (Warwick, 1998), won a Canadian Jewish Book Award, the Louis Lockshin Prize for Short Fiction, and received glowing reviews.

“Bravo!” — Alice Munro (after reading the title story, “Marrow”)

JewishFiction.net

Jewish Fiction .net

Gold is the creator and editor of Jewish Fiction .net, the prestigious online literary journal that publishes first-rate Jewish-themed fiction from around the world. Jewish Fiction .net is currently the only English-language journal in the world devoted exclusively to publishing Jewish fiction.

Nora Gold’s Blogs and Articles

Dr. Gold was a monthly blogger in 2014 for “The Jewish Thinker” at Haaretz.

She also guest blogs for various other publications.

Breaking News