Dr. Nora Gold, writer, editor and activist

Nora Gold’s book, Fields of Exile, is the first novel about anti-Israelism on campus. It was picked by The Forward as one of “The 5 Jewish Books To Read in 2014,″ and has received enthusiastic praise from Phyllis Chesler, Thane Rosenbaum, Irwin Cotler, Steve Stern, Nava Semel, Naim Kattan, Alice Shalvi, and Ann Birstein.

Gold is also the author of the acclaimed Marrow and Other Stories, the creator and editor of the prestigious online literary journal Jewish Fiction .net, a blogger for “The Jewish Thinker” at Haaretz, the Writer-in-Residence and an Associate Scholar at CSWE/OISE/University of Toronto, the organizer of the Wonderful Women Writers Series, and a community activist.

Get in touch with Nora by sending her a message or following her on TwitterFacebook, and LinkedIn. To see her latest news, please scroll down.

Book cover of Fields
Fields of Exile, the first novel about anti-Israelism in the academe, was published in May/June in Canada, the USA, and the UK, and has received enthusiastic praise.

Nora Gold’s Fields of Exile is a gripping tale. It is also a novel of ideas in the tradition of George Elliot, Doris Lessing and Marge Piercy, but one that is filled with real characters and a literary sensibility.

—Phyllis Chesler, author of The New Antisemitism and An American Bride in Kabul

Nora Gold’s Fields of Exile restores one’s faith in the possibilities of the novel. It is truly a novel of ideas, a brave book that ventures into territory from which nonfiction has shied away and even obscured the truth.

—Thane Rosenbaum, author of The Golems of Gotham and Second Hand Smoke

marrow-and-other-stories2

Marrow and Other Stories

Nora Gold’s first book, Marrow and Other Stories (Warwick, 1998), won a Canadian Jewish Book Award, the Louis Lockshin Prize for Short Fiction, and received glowing reviews.

“Bravo!” — Alice Munro (after reading the title story, “Marrow”)

JewishFiction.net

Jewish Fiction .net

Gold is the creator and editor of Jewish Fiction .net, the prestigious online literary journal that publishes first-rate Jewish-themed fiction from around the world. Jewish Fiction .net is currently the only English-language journal in the world devoted exclusively to publishing Jewish fiction.

Nora Gold’s Blogs and Articles

Dr. Gold blogs once a month for “The Jewish Thinker” at Haaretz.

She also guest blogs for various other publications.

Breaking News

  • Gold’s novel, Fields of Exile, was published in May/June in Canada, the USA, and the UK. In all three countries it is available on Amazon. In Israel it can also be purchased through Adraba Bookstore in Jerusalem or Sipur Pashut Bookstore in Tel Aviv.
  • Gold has just returned from Israel, following three very successful readings/conversations, including the Jerusalem and Tel Aviv launches of Fields of Exile.
  • Gold will be participating in the Ashkenaz Festival on August 31st, together with Marilyn Lightstone.